March 1, 2015
Passage: Mark 8:31-38

Today's reading helps us to discover that sometimes the Devil doesn't want us to suffer. He is well aware that there is no lasting glory without suffering, and he does all he can to ensure that this glory never becomes ours. Mark 8:31 highlights three levels of Christian suffering- pain, rejection, death.

We must suffer pain- physical and emotional pain. God makes grace available for enduring pain. We must be ready to be rejected for choosing to stand for Christ. We must even be willing to die- even physically-as Christians.

How can we endure Christian suffering?

We need to set our minds on the things of God; watch your thoughts. Set your mind on the things of the Spirit (Romans 8:5). Set your mind on excellent things (Philippians 4:8).

We must learn to deny ourselves. Don't turn away from 'godly' suffering (Acts 20:22-24). We must learn to endure it as Isaiah 50:6-7 tells us. Philippians 3:10 admonishes us to desire godly suffering. This requires us to not value physical possessions. We must also learn to not be ashamed of the gospel.

1 Peter 4:12-19 tells us that there is blessing in suffering for Christ. Suffering will by all means come to an end, and the glory of the Lord will be revealed in your life.

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

© 2017 Powered by Hope Audio Visual Team

Follow us: